Out of My Comfort Zone

I keep being told that I should have a blog. I’m pretty sure that this is because people are too polite to tell me  I’m talking too much. Or because I have days where I treat my Facebook page like a Twitter feed and people are tired of seeing my face on their scrolls.

I’ve resisted the idea because I’ve always wondered what I would make it into. Should I write about parenting?  About writing?  About politics or religion? About food? About film and television? I like to talk about all these things, and lots of the blogs I read are specialized. I often wonder if I can maintain one, much less several, and my interests wax and wane in intensity.  So I’m not going to specialize.

I’ve also resisted the idea because if I am sitting down to write something, it should be something that either does, will, or may get me paid, because that’s what I do, and my writing time already feels limited. I mentioned to a pilot friend of mine that it would be like a commercial airline pilot taking his or her precious day off to go fly a private or personal plane around. Could he imagine them doing that?

His response was, “Well, yeah, if they really loved to fly.”

And I do like to write, and I like to learn.  I learned HTML back in the mid 90s and let that skill slip away.  Maybe I’ll practice here.  I used to write a lot more poetry back in the day.  Perhaps I’ll post that here.  But what I do know is that whatever appears in these columns will be specialized and unified by the fact that they will be things I love. It may be about a new recipe one day followed by a critical analysis of a memoir the next day and a rant about the Twins the day after.

So why do it in a blog?  Because I know that I have had many, many ideas that I later incorporated into later works, writings, and practices that I came to only after free writing in modes like this, modes that I mostly moved away from once I had a steady stream of work to do and get paid for. And if I do it just for myself, in a non-public, unaccountable way, I might not get back to it.

So welcome to the mess.  Don’t worry about taking off your shoes.

Author of over sixty children's books, as well writer of textbook materials and standardized exam text. I may have helped teach your children...

Posted in Semicoherent Rambling
One comment on “Out of My Comfort Zone
  1. Dawn Ortiz says:

    Look foward to it all.

Leave a Reply

